2017 Penbrook Property of Merit Award Ceremony




Congratulations to Elaine Stahle of 2613 Hoffer Street, the 2017 Penbrook Property of Merit Grand Prize Award winner! Penbrook Revitalization Inc. President Ruth Moraski Keller announced the award at the PPOM Reception that was held October 4th at the Penbrook Community Building, 150 S 28th Street, Penbrook, PA. Elaine's home exemplifies the pride of ownership the Property of Merit program seeks to promote.

Penbrook Police Chief David Heister presented the Founder's Award to the homeowner with the most interesting story about their home. This year's Founder's Award went to Kizzy Texeira of 107 North 25th Street.

The Central Dauphin East String Ensemble provided wonderful music as the audience enjoyed snacks and beverages. Our speaker for this special event was Edward J. Knittel (View Bio), Senior Director, Education and Sustainability, Pennsylvania State Association of Boroughs.

State Representative Sue Helm presented a proclamation from the PA State House of Representatives to each Penbrook Property of Merit Winner. State Senator John DiSanto also presented a proclamation from the PA State Senate to each Penbrook Property of Merit Winner. Dauphin County Commissioner Mike Pries sent greetings and provided each property owner with their own individual Dauphin County PPOM winner for the day proclamation. A proclomation was also read from the office of PA Governor Tom Wolf.

A Big "Thank You" to the reception Sponsors for their financial and gift support:

Harrisburg VFW Post 1718
The Zigmund Co. Ltd.
The National Civil War Museum
Jim Crum and Dorothy E. Hamilton
Anonymous Donor
Gilbert L. Dailey Funeral Home
Kelly & Company
Saul Ewing LLP
Harrisburg Kung Fu Center
Cost Management Plus, Inc
Intrepid TV Repair, Inc
Fine Line Homes
Roberto's Pizza
MC Pizzeria
and The Borough of Penbrook

The Property of Merit Winners honored at the reception were:

Ward 1

Tammy Sweger, Randy Howarth & Hannah Grace
2326 Hoffer Street

Kizzy Texeira*
107 North 25th Street

Ward 2

Elaine Stahle*
2613 Hoffer Street

Javier Garcia & Ines Nares
2625 Butler Street

Ward 3

Michael & Annette Roy
140 South 28th Street

John & Carolyn Livingston*
203 North 30th Street

Ward 4

Rev. & Mrs. Walter L Hafer, Jr.*
2814 Butler Street

Lisa & Randy Berrier
3025 Butler Street

Rental Properties

Pennsylvania Properties*
3111 Hoffer Street

George & Hilda Smith
2442-2444 Penbrook Avenue

Business / Institution

Rick & Dean Cray C & C Counters and Cabinets
2807 Market Street Road

Penbrook Church of God*
2733 Canby Street

*People's Choice Award


Thank you to the Property of Merit Leadership Team for a wonderful evening:

Rick Levandusky
Overall Team Leader Co-chair
Ruth Moraski Keller
Nominating Co-Chair
Dorothy Hamilton
Nominating Co-Chair
Karen Moraski
Reception Chair
Carmen Gonzalez
Balloting Chair